Skip to content

Composites Manufacturing Awards – Presented at AeroDef

The 2019 Composites Manufacturing Award honorees received their awards during the AeroDef Manufacturing event, April 29 in Long Beach, California.

Application Process & Rules

Jud Hall Composites Manufacturing Award

The J.H. “Jud” Hall Composites Manufacturing Award honors the late Judge H. Hall (1931-85) for his dedication to making the former Composites Manufacturing Association of SME (CMA/SME) an established group within the composites manufacturing industry, and for his contributions to the development of composites technology. Hall was issued U.S. Patent 3962394 — “Method for molding fiber reinforced composite tube” in June 1976. Previously, he was a member of the technical staff, TRW Inc., Redondo Beach, California, and chair of the former CMA/SME.

The award is presented annually to an individual who has contributed to the composites manufacturing or tooling technology through leadership, technical developments, patents or educational activities. It recognizes excellence in the development or improvement of processes, tooling and applications, as well as achievements in composites research, education and technology transfer. The J.H. “Jud” Hall Composites Manufacturing Award celebrates innovation in solving issues related to production and applications development, and acknowledges significant contributions that reduce costs and waste streams, and improves quality and efficiency.


2020 Winner—Kurtis Willden

Kurtis Willden, technical fellow, Boeing Corporation, is the recipient of the 2020 J.H. “Jud” Hall Award. He was recognized for his successes in the development and implementation of processes and equipment for large composite aerospace structures. Willden is a highly skilled engineer and innovator whose ideas are used in production, saving $45 million annually and millions of dollars in non-recurring cost avoidance.

Jud Hall Composites Manufacturing Award Winners

Douglas D. Decker (2019)
Larry Pelham (2018)
Dimitrije Milovich (2017)
Scott Lewit (2016)
Gary Georgeson (2015)
Mamidala Ramulu, PhD, FSME (2014)
Doug McCarville, PhD, PE (2013)
Jon B. DeVault (2012)
John D. Russell, ScD (2011)
David C. Dickson (2010)
Vernon M. Benson (2009)
Robert J. Basso, PE (2002)
Elbert L. “Burt” Rutan (2001)
John W. Gillespie Jr. (2000)
Edgar E. Morris (1999)
Brian E. Spencer, PhD (1998)
James C. Leslie, PhD, FSME (1997)
Scott W. Beckwith, PhD (1996)
Melvin M. Schwartz (1995)
Cecil W. Schneider, FSME, PE (1994)
L.E. “Roy” Meade (1993)
Leslie J. Cohen, PhD (1992)
Larry J. Ashton (1991)
Richard A. Lofland, FSME (1990)
Robert L. Pinckney (1989)
Samuel J. Dastin (1988)
George P. Peterson, FSME (1987)
W. Brandt Goldsworthy (1986)

Excellence in Composites Manufacturing Awards

Application Process & Rules

In recognition of the valuable contributions within the composites manufacturing industry, the Composites Manufacturing Tech Group, which is part of SME’s Plastics, Composites & Coatings Community, developed two technical awards to acknowledge the valuable roles that both large and small manufacturers play within the industry.

The awards are presented annually to one large company and one small company that have demonstrated “excellence in the field of advanced composites manufacturing.” These are international awards, and the competition is open and unrestricted to all companies that manufacture products from advanced composite materials. These annual awards recognize those companies that have demonstrated dedication and ongoing contribution to further advance the design and development of technology used in the manufacturing of advanced composites.

Each award showcases those companies that have excelled in manufacturing products made from advanced composite materials. That excellence includes developing an innovative way via tooling and/or manufacturing process techniques, which will help manufacture future products made from these materials; or have shown accelerated growth by providing superior service, quality or cost reduction initiatives. The award recipients will have demonstrated all of the initiatives that have helped advance the overall composite manufacturing industry.

Excellence in Composites Manufacturing Award Recipients


Small Company – Aligned Vision
Large Company – The Boeing Company


Small Company – MTorres
Large Company – Northrop Grumman


Small Company – Impossible Objects
Large Company – Bell Helicopter


Small Company – Radius Engineering Inc.


Small Company – Abaris
Large Company – Fives Cincinnati


Small Company – Exelis Aerostructures
Large Company – Lockheed Martin


ATK Aerospace Structures Division


Small Company – Janicki Industries
Large Company – Northrop Grumman


Small Company – Encore Structures Inc.
Large Company – The Boeing Co.


Small Company – Royal Engineered Composites
Large Company – Callaway Golf